khabarspecial/MS Dhoni Became The First Player To Lose Five IPL Finals Dhoni Became The First Player To Lose Five IPL Finals
Cricket/Sports: MS Dhoni continued to be haunted by Mumbai Indians in IPL finals, MS Dhoni lost his third consecutive Indian Premier League final against Mumbai Indians.

MS Dhoni suffered yet another heartbreak against Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League as Rohit Sharma became the first player to lift fourth title by beating Rising Pune Supergiant in the final on Sunday.

Thrice before, Dhoni had faced Mumbai Indians in the final of the IPL – in 2010, 2013 and 2015 as Chennai Super Kings captain. Dhoni was on the victorious side in the 2010 final but failed to overcome Mumbai challenge in the other two title clashes. Dhoni also became the first player to lose five IPL finals.

Dhoni became the first player to reach seven IPL finals — six times with CSK and once with RPS, who made their debut last season after the Supreme Court-appointed Justice RM Lodha Committee suspended CSK and Rajasthan Royals in 2015 for betting and spot-fixing scam that rocked Indian cricket in 2013.

Though Dhoni’s inconsistency with the bat was a cause for concern for RPS for a while this season his wicket-keeping skills continued to draw praises from players and cricket experts.

During the campaign, Dhoni also became the second wicket-keeper after Dinesh Karthik to complete 100 dismissals in the IPL history.

But Dhoni played two important knocks, including the rapid 40 not out off 26 balls against Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 1, that was enough to shut his critics. He also breached the 400-run mark in IPL play-offs

He was also at his menacing best when his 34-ball 61 not out inspired Pune to a six-wicket win against 2016 champions Sunrisers Hyderabad in the league game.

Dhoni, who led CSK in the first eight seasons, was handed the Pune captaincy in 2016 but he endured a poor record winning only five out of contested 14 games.

He was removed from the helm before the start of the tournament and the management handed over the reigns to Australian Steve Smith for the 10th edition.